Barlow's cheerleading team competes in the state championships.
Barlow's cheerleading team competes in the state championships.

The OSAA cheerleading championships crowned six new champions and three repeat champions Feb. 9-10 at Oregon City High School.

The Game Day divisions saw new champions emerge with Baker in the 4A/3A/2A/1A division and West Salem in the 6A/5A division on Friday. On Saturday, there were four new Traditional champions with Yamhill-Carlton in the 3A/2A/1A division, Newport in the 4A division, Crescent Valley in the 5A division, and West Linn in the 6A Large division. 

Repeat champions included Gladstone in the 4A/3A/2A/1A Coed division, Newberg in the 6A Small division and McMinnville in the 6A/5A Coed division.

Newport’s last championship came in 2019 while Crescent Valley earned their last championship 25 years ago in 1999. However, the other four teams (Baker, West Salem, Yamhill-Carlton, and West Linn) earned their first state championship for their school. 

In the 4A/3A/2A/1A Game Day division, Baker scored 111.5 and second place The Dalles scored 110. There was a three point difference in the 6/5A Game Day division with West Salem scoring 117.5 and second place Thurston scoring 114.5.

Gladstone had a decisive win over Marshfield in the 4A/3A/2A/1A division scoring 104.1 versus their 88.60. It was closer in the3A/2A/1A division with Yamhill-Carlton scoring 99.5 and second place Santiam Christian scoring 97.4. 

In the 4A division, Newport beat Sweet Home scoring 107.1 to their 102.2. The 6A Small and Large divisions were closer with Newberg beating Westview 107 to 104.3 and West Linn beating Aloha 110.8 to 107.7.

McMinnville beat Tualatin 107.6 to 105.6. However, McMinnville was the only state champion to bring home a trophy despite receiving a deduction. All other state champions received zero deductions.

Whether or not a team walked away with a win or a trophy, every team worked hard to make it to the state championships and should be proud of the work that it took to get there. Coaches are inevitably making a plan to retain or win a state championship in 2025.