Article Photo

2019 Pre-season statewide boys soccer coaches polls

OSAAtoday presents its first statewide boys soccer coaches polls of 2019 in all classifications. Thanks to all the coaches who took the time and had the expertise to contribute their opinions to this endeavor.

Look for the boys soccer coaches polls every other week during the fall season.

Please note: these polls are for generating interest and discussion only and have no impact on the OSAA’s RPI and Colley ratings that form the basis of the OSAA’s rankings for playoff purposes.


1.Jesuit (5) 92

2.Summit (5) 82

3.Central Catholic 68

4.Grant 49

5.South Eugene 44

6.David Douglas (1) 41

7.Tigard 23

8.Westview 21

9.Forest Grove 19

10.West Linn 18

First-place votes in parentheses

Others receiving significant votes: Lincoln (17); Liberty (16)

Notes: Jesuit, the 2017 runner-up to Westview, made a surprise run to the title last year as the No. 12 seed. It was the Crusaders' first championship since 2013. In the final, they won on penalty kicks over Summit, which had moved up from 5A.


1. Corvallis (5) 82

2.La Salle Prep (3) 74

3.Ashland 40

4.South Albany 38

5.Wilsonville 32

6.Hillsboro 29

6.Central 29

8.Churchill (1) 25

9.Silverton 22

10.Hood River Valley 21

First-place votes in parentheses

Others receiving significant votes: North Salem (16)

Notes: Corvallis, which lost to Woodburn in the 2017 final, beat La Salle Prep 1-0 in overtime to win the title last year. ... La Salle Prep lost in the semifinals in 2016 and 2017 before making last year's final.


1. Woodburn (13) 130

2.Stayton 99

3.North Marion 65

4.Phoenix 63

5.Valley Catholic 52

6.Marist Catholic 50

7.Madras 42

8.Seaside 36

9.North Valley 20

9.McLoughlin 20

First-place votes in parentheses

Others receiving significant votes: Newport (18); Gladstone (17); Hidden Valley (14); Molalla (14); Ontario (12)

Notes: Woodburn had won five 5A titles in eight seasons, including 2016 and 2017, before dropping down to 4A last year and winning another championship by beating North Marion 2-0 in the final. ... Stayton was the only team to defeat Woodburn last year, winning 1-0 in an Oregon West Conference match. Stayton lost in the first round of the playoffs.


1. Catlin Gabel (7) 97

2.Oregon Episcopal (3) 83

3.Riverside 73

4.St. Mary’s, Medford 65

5.Brookings-Harbor 42

6.De La Salle North Catholic 32

7.Dayton 26

8.Riverdale 20

9.Santiam Christian 15

10.Taft 10

First-place votes in parentheses

Others receiving significant votes:Western Christian (11)

Notes: Catlin Gabel has appeared in the last three finals, winning titles in 2016 and 2018. The Eagles beat Special District 1 rival Oregon Episcopal 1-0 for the title, avenging their only loss of the season. ... Riverside beat Catlin Gabel 4-1 in the 2017 final.