Oregon School Activities Association
OnPoint Community Credit Union
POA_OSAA_Mobile_Ad_234x60.png Ad
RTA-Fall22_web-ad_160x600.jpg Ad

6A Football Playoff Qualifications

Rankings Freeze and Play-In Dates Summary

6A Football

Two 16-team OSAA brackets

  1. Automatic QualifiersTwenty-two teams automatically qualify for the OSAA’s 32 qualifying spots (Two 16-team brackets) based on regular season and/or special district tournament play on or before Saturday, October 29. Each league/special district determines how they will select their allotted playoff spots.

    PIL - 4; Metro - 3; Pacific - 3; Mt. Hood - 4; Three Rivers - 3; Special District 1 - 5

      PIL - Grant, Jefferson, Roosevelt, Ida B. Wells
      Metro - Jesuit, Mountainside, Westview
      Pacific - Sherwood, Liberty, Century
      Mt. Hood - Central Catholic, Nelson, Barlow, Sandy
      Three Rivers - West Linn, Tualatin, Lake Oswego
      Special District 1 - Sheldon, North Medford, South Salem, South Medford, Grants Pass

  2. Rankings Freeze Date – The rankings will freeze at 10pm on Saturday, October 29.

  3. At-Large QualifiersTen additional teams will qualify for the OSAA's 32 qualifying spots (Two 16-team brackets) based on the OSAA rankings. Once the rankings are frozen, the 10 highest ranked teams not already an automatic special district qualifier will qualify as At-Large teams.

      At-Large #1 - Tigard
      At-Large #2 - Oregon City
      At-Large #3 - Newberg
      At-Large #4 - Lakeridge
      At-Large #5 - Sprague
      At-Large #6 - Clackamas
      At-Large #7 - Sunset
      At-Large #8 - North Salem
      At-Large #9 - McMinnville
      At-Large #10 - Reynolds

  4. Rankings – Once the 32 qualifying teams are determined, they will be placed on the OSAA brackets according to OSAA Executive Board Policy "State Championships – Rankings".

      OSAA 16 - team Football State Championship Bracket
      The six league champions along with the next 10 highest ranked teams from the 32 qualifying teams will make up the 16-team state championship bracket.

      OSAA 16-team Football Columbia Cup Bracket
      The remaining 16 qualifying teams will be placed on the Columbia Cup 16-team bracket